2013 Charger Girls of the Day

This is the quiet time of the year for me, photographically speaking.  There’s not a lot going on between audition season and the start of the NFL season, so it is a good time to take a look back and recognize those Charger Girls who made a lasting impression.

In 2013, I was looking forward to the new Charger Girl squad because there were a number of promising new girls and the debut of the rookies always add a level of excitement to the beginning of the season.

I was looking forward to the new season because it combines two of my passions: 1) football and 2) photography.  And from where I sit, I get to photograph the Charger Girls in all their splendor.  But if you have been keeping tabs on this blog, you know that for the past few years, there’s always something that makes this more and more problematic.   From the changing of the guidelines on what you can bring in to the spurious enforcement of the rules by poorly informed security personnel, it has been a challenge recently.  And this year was no exception.

For the first several games, the stadium management decided in all their “wisdom” to place a huge raised stage in front of my seating section.  This platform not only obscured my vision of the Charger Girls, it obscured my view of the field…which is all ready partially obscured because the seating area is rather low to the ground.  It’s a converted baseball stadium and the seats are great for watching baseball where there isn’t anyone along the sidelines as there is in football.

Needless to say, me and my fellow season ticket holders were quite upset at this development.  Well I complained to some stadium staff that I know and was about to write a letter to Dean Spanos, the Team President, to express my dissatisfaction at having to pay full price for a fully obscured view of half of the game…this was not what I signed up for when I renewed by season tickets and neither did the other 200 or so season ticket holders that were similarly affected.

Anyway, my contacts made the point at their stadium management meeting and the problems with the stage were made known.  Did this make a difference?  I don’t know, but there weren’t any more band performances for the remainder of the year.  I can be certain that these complaints made a difference or simply there weren’t anymore bands scheduled, but the matter was resolved, as far as I was concerned…at least for the time being.  Next year…I don’t know…it’s always something.

Why do I bring this up, well because I really had to struggle to get quality photos for the first three game day articles and it was very difficult to get enough good photos to even feature a Charger Girl of the Day.  But, I did and this is where were begin.

Our first Charger Girl of Day for the 2013 season was Hope, a Charger Girl who was sporting a new hair color.  Hope is one of the Charger Girls that I always get a lot of amazing photographs and to be selected Charger Girl of the Day, a series of remarkable photos is a must.

CGOTD13P1v001

The second preseason game was the annual salute to the military day in Qualcomm Stadium, but when I got to my seats, I was frustrated to see the aforementioned stage.  I was so upset, I almost decided to drive the 120 miles back home because it only a preseason game and the football is not worthy of watching, let alone paying full price.  The only thing that makes the drive worth while is the Charger Girls.

Well, I decided to stay and I am glad I did because the Charger Girls wore these new military themed uniforms that were quite sexy and attractive.  Even though I had to struggle to get photos of the girls in the first half, I did get some memorable shots of them.  And for all my struggles, I was rewarded with some great shots of a Charger Girl rookie, Shelbi…who coincidentally went to the same high school as my niece.

CGOTD13P4v001

Shelbi has all the requisite qualities that one needs to be selected a Charger Girl of the Day:  good looks, dance ability, and that special memorable quality when performing.  Needless to say, she has become one of my favorite Charger Girls to photograph.

The first week of the regular season saw the Houston Texans come to town.  A blown referee call and a second half collapse would cost the Chargers the game.  The Texans win would be only one of two they would have for the season…that’s how badly the Chargers played…to lose to the worst team in the NFL.

Well if the Chargers were bad, our third Charger Girl of the Day was good, good, good.  Jessica was a rookie in 2013, but I had photographed her earlier that year as a member of the Anaheim Bolts Dance Team.  After the Bolts’ season ended, Jessica tried out for the Charger Girls and made the squad…and I think you can see why.

CGOTD13R1v001

Our next 2013 Charger Girl of the Day is one of my all time favorite Charger Girls to photograph.  Brunette and tall.  Long, sexy legs and a pretty face.  Big, flowing hair.  Kylie made a lasting impression from the first day I saw her back in 2010.

CGOTD13R4v001

Needless to say, I have many wonderful photographs of Kylie.  She’s a girl that I can photograph all day long and never get a bad shot.

The Henderson, Nevada native retired from the squad this past year and relocated to Tennessee, so perhaps we may see her on the sidelines in a Titans Cheerleader uniform in the near future.

There were a lot of memorable rookies this year and our next 2013 Charger Girl of the Day was one of them.  She is a lean, mean, dancing machine with boundless energy…at least that was my impression of her.  And Lindsay made a lasting impression on me.

CGOTD13R6v001

I usually prefer not to honor a Charger Girl with a CGOTD more than once in a season because there are so many worthy girls and I don’t want to be accused of favoritism, but when I reviewed the week’s photos, I have to be honest.  And in week 10, Hope provided me with the most impressive series of photos for a second time.  To be fair, she earned it…a second in-season CGOTD award.

CGOTD13R10v001

Hope is special and I was looking forward to photographing her again in 2014, but apparently she did not try out this season and is not on the 2014 squad…I am so bummed out as I am sure many of her fans are as well.

But that’s the great thing about the Charger Girls.  They are so popular that they can lose half of their veterans to retirement and field a comparable squad the following season.

Often times, there are a couple of girls that are in contention for the Charger Girl of the Day honors.   In fact, there have been several game days that the decision has been difficult, coming down to one or two photos.  But in week 13 it was too close to call, so I decided that they both girls should be recognized.

Our first honoree was Katie, who found her way back onto the 2013 Charger Girls after the initial squad was announced back on April 12, 2013.  I never found out how that happened, but I am sure happy she did because I like photographing Katie.

CGOTD13R13v01

Our second honoree of week 13 happens to be a very special Charger Girl, Angela. There is no other Charger Girl that I have such a special rapport with photographically speaking. I get so many amazing photographs of her that she is in contention pretty much every week. We just have some special mojo going on because when the camera is on her, she shines. This is what an NFL cheerleader is all about.

CGOTD13R13v02

An interesting fact about the Charger Girls is that they attract dancers from other professional dance teams. There have been former NBA, NFL, minor sports cheerleaders who have tried out for the Charger Girls…some have made it and some have not. We even had a professional cheerleader from Australia make the Charger Girls a few years ago, the first known Australian professional cheerleader to make an NFL squad before those two notable DCCs.

I guess what I am saying is that the Charger Girls attract some of the best and most beautiful cheerleaders from sport and this year was no exception as our next Charger Girl of the Day honoree was a former Seattle Sea Gal named Nicole.

CGOTD13R14v01

I guess she wanted to get away from the overcast and rainy skies of Seattle and bask in the ever present sunshine of Southern California. Seattle’s loss was our gain. Unfortunately for Charger fans, Nicole did not try out for the 2014 Charger Girls…let’s hope we see her again because she was special. Nicole may not have a Super Bowl ring, but she does have a CGOTD award! Woo! Hoo!

Our final Charger Girl of the Day for the 2013 season is one of my all time favorite Charger Girls.  Her name is Anjelica and she’s quite striking.  She’s beautiful and a great dancer.  Anjelica is another one of the Charger Girls that I could photograph all day long and never get tired of shooting her.  She’s another special one.

CGOTD13R16v01

It’s those beautiful blue eyes and her red hair.  Amazing.

I am truly blessed with all these absolutely gorgeous Charger Girls to photograph each week.  An embarrassment of riches.  Now, if I can only get the Chargers management to stop all of there anti-photographer, non fan friendly shenanigans, I’d be a happy camper.

This entry was posted in From the Archives. Bookmark the permalink.