More Photos from the first Preseason Game of 2011

I generally look forward to preseason football.  No, not for the quality of play on the field.  I like coming to preseason football because I enjoy photographing the Charger Girls.  You see, photography is my passion and who wouldn’t like to photograph 28 of the most beautiful girls you’ve ever seen.  So, it’s a tremendous opportunity to indulge in two of my favorite things…photography and watching pretty girls.

But as some of you may have known,  I had some difficulties during last year’s preseason game, when unbeknownst to season ticket holders, the Chargers changed their camera policy to a more restrictive and, frankly, ridiculous policy.  I became so frustrated that I wrote a letter to Dean Spanos, the president of the Chargers to discuss my grievances.  And I encouraged other season ticket holders to do the same.

Well apparently our efforts were successful and this year the Chargers amended their camera policy to something more reasonable (6″ lenses are now allowed).  Furthermore, they let the season ticket holders know in advance and in writing…something they didn’t do last year.

So, they got it right and took a stand in favor of the fans…fans like me who buy expensive tickets and expensive merchandise and expensive concessions in this horrible economy.  They got it right for fans like me who support the team with our hard earned dollars.  They got it right for fans like me whom the Chargers need to get the political support to get their new stadium deal done, either here in San Diego or in Los Angeles, where I live.

They got it right.

Now let this be a lesson for all sports teams and their billionaire owners (hey Frank McCourt, you listening)…ALWAYS LISTEN TO THE VOICE OF THE FAN.  WE PAY YOUR SALARIES.  WE MAKE YOUR TEAMS PROFITABLE.  AND WE CAN MAKE YOUR STADIUM DREAMS A REALITY…OR WE CAN TURN THEM INTO PIPE DREAMS.

And if you don’t believe me, remember the baseball strike of 1994 -1995?  How long did it take the fans to come back to the game?  How long did it take to get TV ratings back to a level where it was worth it for networks to pay millions of dollars to enrich your coffers.

Every first year business student knows, the customer is always right.

*               *               *               *               *

It was preseason for me too and it took me a little while to get in a good photographic groove.  I was trying out a new lens, one that was less than six inches long and in compliance with the Chargers revised camera policy.  As with all new equipment, it takes some time to get used to.

And I had Mad Max next to me, which forced me to contort my body a bit more than usual to get shots of the girls on the far side.  But all in all, it was an enjoyable evening of photography and the Charger Girls.

Typically, I take between 1,200 and 1,600 photographs at a game.  Of that amount, about 25 percent of those shots are worthy of further post processing and of those 300 or so images, I select roughy 30-50 to include in my game day articles.

But that leaves many more noteworthy photographs of the Charger Girls unseen…unseen, that is, if I didn’t post the remainders here.

So, for your enjoyment…here are the remains of the day.

Christie was a former Jets Flight Crew Cheerleader. I am glad she decided to come out west to enjoy all that California offers. She’s going to make a fine addition to the Charger Girls.

This is Emma, our resident Aussie, who is responding to the guys in my section chanting, “Aussie! Aussie! Aussie! Oy! Oy! Oy!”

Our former USC Song Girl returns after a one season absence. Welcome back Jackie!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to More Photos from the first Preseason Game of 2011

  1. Buzz Robinson says:

    Absolutely incredible photos…as always!! David, I just want to thank you for your efforts. Your passion and pride shows in the beautiful, classy and tasteful images you allow us to enjoy. I have made this blog and Ultimate Cheerleaders a daily stop on my internet surfing tour. No one is providing better info, updates and photos than you folks!! Also…I know you don’t enjoy preseason games, but get your new lens ready to go because the Chargers will have a great season!! Rivers will throw 40 or more TDs and Vincent Jackson will catch at least 15 of them. Rivers-to-Jackson will be the best combo in the NFL this year!! Plus…you will have 28 Charger Girls to photograph. Your seat at Qualcomm could be one of the hottest places to be this season!! Enjoy the season and thank you again for your time and efforts…and for sharing it all with us!!

  2. Jimmy says:

    Despite being an Englishman with negligible interest in “American football” i am glad to see that your season is starting again.

    Keep up the good work!

  3. Alan Davis says:

    Bravissimo! as always. While the Chargers rebuild, the Charger Girls reload. Great to have you shooting.

  4. Dan says:

    Awesome batch of photos!! Great kick shot of Lauren O and from behind shot of Katelyn! Superb and flawless!! Thank you!!

Comments are closed.