The Class of the PAC-10: The UCLA Dance Team

Okay, I am kind of partial to the UCLA Dance Team.  I went to UCLA in the mid 80’s.  I was the Second Vice Chairman of the Rally Committee and was responsible for the coordinating the annual BEAT SC Bonfire Rally, so I have a special place in my heart for the UCLA Dance Team.

Now there is a squad across town, that to people outside of California may be more famous, but over the past few years the UCLA Dance Team has gained an unparalleled reputation for beauty and grace among our local populace.   Don’t believe me?  Do a search for the Daily News’ Scott Wolf’s blog posting regarding Song Girl Gate and you’ll see that UCLA is now the most admired.

As a point of fact, the UCLA Dance Team has long had a reputation for beauty and grace, a fact documented in a Sports Illustrated article entitled, Eight Beauties and a Beat.  And this year’s squad is no exception.

UCLA Dance Team 006

UCLA Dance Team 004

UCLA Dance Team 016

The PAC-10 Men’s and Women’s Basketball Tournament is being held at the Staples Center in Downtown Los Angeles and new this year is the Pacific Life Fan Fest, which features live performances of each school’s spirit squads. I decided to check out the festivities on this first full day of the tournament and snap a few photographs of my beloved UCLA Dance Team…and it’s a good thing I did because the UCLA’s men’s basketball team promptly lost their first game to the University of Oregon and was eliminated from the tourney.  So, enjoy these few photos of the lovely and talented UCLA Dance Team…I was hoping to get more photos as UCLA continued through the PAC-10 tournament, but alas this is all we are going to get for now.

UCLA Dance Team 008

UCLA Dance Team 009

UCLA Dance Team 012

UCLA Dance Team 013

UCLA Dance Team 017

UCLA Dance Team 010

UCLA Dance Team 007

UCLA Dance Team 021

UCLA Dance Team 011

UCLA Dance Team 014

UCLA Dance Team 019

UCLA Dance Team 002

I think you’ll agree that the UCLA Dance Team is something special, but then again I might be a little biased. GO BRUINS!

This entry was posted in Featured Articles. Bookmark the permalink.