Iron Man 2 and the Charger Girls

It’s been slow lately, so I hooked up a blue-ray player to my TV and purchased a few discs to watch, one of which was Iron Man 2.  As a kid growing up in the post Vietnam war era (yes, I am that old), one of my favorite comic books to read was Iron Man.  I loved the robotic looking suit, particularly the expressionless mask that made Tony Stark inscrutable to his enemies.  I often worried that my comic book hero would be defeated by a nemesis wielding a giant electromagnet or that Tony Stark would be replaced by Stainless Steel Man or Titanium Man, because as we know iron rusts and is a brittle metal.

Well, one the first blu-ray discs I purchased was Iron Man 2.  I missed the movie during it’s theatrical release and I wanted an action flick with a lot of CGI effects to check out the properties of blu-ray in HD.  People who know me, know that I tend to over analyze films and generally do not like movies derived from comic books or graphic novels.   And this one was no different, but I kind of expected that.  Anyway, the best part of the movie other than the suit, was the Ironette dancers, whose appearance in the opening sequence was all too brief.

I was pleasantly surprised to see that a few of my favorite Charger Girls were featured as Ironettes: Kylette Zamora, Jill Ann Pineda Arnold, Melanie Brown, and Brooke Long.  So, here are a few photos I took of the gals before they hung up their go go boots for a showbiz career.

** Update – Alert reader Ron noticed that I had missed former Charger Girl Jill Ann in my original post.  Thanks Ron for the heads up.  I had to look her up in the credits to make sure, since you really can’t tell individual girls from their cameo in the movie. **

Kylette092208v2

Kylette Zamora

Kylette082508v1

Kylette Zamora

Kylette082508v3

Kylette Zamora

Kylette082508v4

Kylette Zamora

CGJillann1125v1

Jill Ann Pineda Arnold

/”>JillAnn113008v1

Jill Ann Pineda Arnold

Melanie09P1

Melanie Brown

Melanie09P2

Melanie Brown

Brooke-2

Brooke Long

Blu-ray on a HD TV is awesome.  The resolution is amazing and the picture quality is so sharp, Mickey Rourke’s character looks like his face has been used as a punching bag!  Wow, those make up effects are amazing.

Anyway, here are a few images of the Ironette dancers, courtesy of Coed Magazine.

Who says you have to have a pretty face to make it in Hollywood?

I must admit, these would make for some pretty kick ass cheerleading uniforms...say perhaps for the KC Chiefs? Or Perhaps a blue and gold version for the Charger Girls...nah, keep the classic CG uniform.

This entry was posted in Featured Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Iron Man 2 and the Charger Girls

  1. dreaming40 says:

    Girls look HOT in the red! thanks

  2. Ron says:

    You forgot to mention Jill Ann. She’s in there too! (On the group shot, 2nd from the left, top row). She was on the same CG team as Kylette.

Comments are closed.